Governor Nathan Deal - Georgia’s 82nd Governor (2011-2019)

The content on this website is archived historic material and should be used for research purposes only. This website is no longer updated, and some links may not work. For inquiries please contact Governor Kemp’s office.

Deal congratulates State Patrol on national recognition

October 26, 2011

Gov. Nathan Deal today congratulated the Georgia State Patrol which this week was named the top state police/ highway patrol agency in the country in the category of 501 to 1,000 sworn officers.
“I extend my most sincere congratulations to Col. Mark McDonough, his predecessor Col. Bill Hitchens and the Georgia State Patrol on this national honor,” Deal said. “I have the great privilege of serving with GSP officers every day and I cannot thank them enough for their loyal and tireless commitment to our state.”

The award was a part of the National Law Enforcement Challenge, sponsored by the International Association of Chiefs of Police. The award was accepted in Chicago by the commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Safety, Col. Mark McDonough.

“The IACP National Law Enforcement Challenge is a prestigious awards program that recognizes the best of the best,” McDonough said. “To be included in the awards recognition is an honor and speaks highly to the dedication of the men and women of the Georgia State Patrol.”

The National Law Enforcement Challenge recognizes and awards the best overall traffic safety programs. The NLEC focuses on agencies efforts to enforce laws and educate the public about occupant protection, impaired driving and speeding. The most effective and noteworthy safety programs combine office training, public information and enforcement to reduce crashes and injuries within their jurisdiction.

On a state level, the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety administers the Georgia Governor’s Challenge, which follows the criteria of the national competition. In the state competition, individual troopers of the Georgia State Patrol compete for honors, but the entire agency is judged for the national award.

In addition to the GSP, five county sheriff’s office and five municipal police departments were named national finalists, with three earning first place honors and one as the overall winner of the championship class.

The first place winners were Franklin County Sheriff’s Office, Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office and Gainesville Police Department.

The Tift County Sheriff’s Office, a first place winner in 2009, won the championship class, edging out the Naperville, Ill., Police Department and the California Highway Patrol. The championship class is a special competition for previous year first-place winners.

For more information on the NLEC please click here.