Governor Nathan Deal - Georgia’s 82nd Governor (2011-2019)

The content on this website is archived historic material and should be used for research purposes only. This website is no longer updated, and some links may not work. For inquiries please contact Governor Kemp’s office.

Deal to visit storm-damaged areas: Governor declares emergency in 12 additional counties, bringing total to 16

April 28, 2011

Gov. Nathan Deal and GEMA Director Charley English will tour storm-damaged areas in northwest Georgia and western Middle Georgia today and will also hold a media avail at the State Operations Center this afternoon upon his return to Atlanta. The governor has declared a state of emergency in Bartow, Coweta, Greene, Lamar, Meriwether,  Monroe, Morgan, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, and Troup counties. This brings the total number of counties under a state of emergency to 16 after he declared emergencies for Walker, Dade, Catoosa and Floyd counties last night.

At 11:30 a.m., the governor will arrive in Ringgold in Catoosa County. He will assess damage there by helicopter. He hold a media availability in Ringgold at the Sheriff’s Department, 5842 Highway 41.

At 1:30 p.m., the governor will arrive at the site of Mountain View Elementary School in Manchester in Meriwether County.

At 3:30 p.m., the governor will hold a news conference at the State Operations Center at 935 E. Confederate  Ave. in Atlanta.

Stephanie Mayfield will serve as the office contact today at 404-651-7774 and 404-516-5376 and

Brian Robinson will serve as the on-site contact at 770-533-2617 and