Governor Nathan Deal - Georgia’s 82nd Governor (2011-2019)

The content on this website is archived historic material and should be used for research purposes only. This website is no longer updated, and some links may not work. For inquiries please contact Governor Kemp’s office.

Deal names Education Reform Commission members

January 21, 2015

Gov. Nathan Deal today named the individuals who will serve on the Education Reform Commission that he announced during his State of the State address. The commission will study the state’s education system, including its funding formula, and provide recommendations intended to improve the system, increase access to early learning programs, recruit and retain high-quality instructors and expand school options for Georgia’s families.

“My vision for K-12 education in Georgia is a system driven by student need that provides local school and district leaders with real control and flexibility,” said Deal. “With this commission now in place, it is my hope that we will work together to make education more accessible and effective in preparing our state’s students for the rigors of college and the workforce. Georgia families depend on our classrooms, and now it’s time we take the responsibility in full to provide the high-quality, technologically advanced education they so deserve. I fully anticipate this commission will help bring my vision to reality and I’m grateful for the members' willingness to serve.”

The commission will convene throughout the year to comprehensively review the state’s education system and QBE funding formula in order to provide recommendations on possible executive, legislative and agency fixes. The recommendations will be sent to Deal by Aug. 1 of this year, with some going into effect as early as the 2016-2017 school year. Chuck Knapp, former president of the University of Georgia, will chair both the commission and the subcommittee on funding reform.

Commission members are listed below:




Madelyn Adams

Director of Community Benefit

Kaiser Permanente of Georgia

Matt Arthur

Deputy Commissioner

Technical College System of Georgia

Robert Avossa


Fulton County Schools

Greg Beadles

Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative and Financial Officer

AMB Sports and Entertainment

Brad Bryant


REACH Scholarship program

Brooks Coleman

Chairman, House Education Committee

Georgia General Assembly

Tom Dickson

Chairman, House Education Appropriations Subcommittee

Georgia General Assembly

Mike Dudgeon

State Representative

Georgia General Assembly

Kent Edwards


Carrolton City Schools

Terry England

Chairman, House Appropriations Committee

Georgia General Assembly

Tina Fernandez


Bellwether Education Partners

Mike Glanton

State Representative

Georgia General Assembly

Barbara Hampton

Sixth Congressional District Member

State Board of Education

Tyler Harper

Chairman, Senate Public Safety Committee

Georgia General Assembly

Hannah Heck

Attorney, Vice Chair and Founding Board Member

Westside Atlanta Charter School

Jack Hill

Chairman, Senate Appropriations Committee

Georgia General Assembly

Kylie Holley


Pataula Charter Academy

Bonnie Holliday

Executive Director

Georgia Charter Schools Commission

Amy Jacobs


Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning 

Audrey King

South Region External Affairs Manager

Georgia Power Company

Cynthia Kuhlman

Director of Educational Achievement

        Cousins Family Foundation, Inc.

Fran Millar

Chairman, Senate Higher Education Committee

Georgia General Assembly

Nels Peterson

Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs

University System of Georgia

Hunter Pierson

Vice Chairman

New Schools New Orleans, co-founder of Young Professionals for Education Equity

Noris Price


Baldwin County Schools

Elizabeth Rhodes

Retired Teacher

Educators First

Will Schofield


Hall County Schools

Freddie Powell Simms

State Senator

Georgia General Assembly

Lindsey Tippins

Chairman, Senate Education and Youth Committee

Georgia General Assembly

Anthony Townsend


Locust Grove Middle School, Henry County

Alvin Wilbanks


Gwinnett County Schools

Pam Williams

2011 Georgia Teacher of the Year

Appling County High School

Dick Yarbrough

Columnist, retired BellSouth Corporation executive, managing director of the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games



Valencia Stovall State Representative Georgia General Assembly