Governor Nathan Deal - Georgia’s 82nd Governor (2011-2019)

The content on this website is archived historic material and should be used for research purposes only. This website is no longer updated, and some links may not work. For inquiries please contact Governor Kemp’s office.

Deal commends 2012 Master Teachers

September 18, 2012

Gov. Nathan Deal today announced the names of 75 Georgia teachers who have earned the “Master Teacher” certification, based on demonstrated excellence in student achievement and student growth for 2012.

“I am proud of Georgia’s Master Teachers for their tireless efforts to enrich the minds and lives of our students and for their ongoing work toward reaching our state’s goal of providing a high-quality teacher in every classroom,” said Deal. “Georgia continues to make tremendous strides in improving educational opportunities for our students, and I am unwavering in my support of the critical link between effective teachers and student achievement.”

Georgia’s Master Teacher Certification Program was established in 2005 and is coordinated by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (PSC). Based on classroom performance on the Criterion-Referenced Competency Test (CRCT), documentation of student growth and exemplary professional practices, superior teachers are designated as “Master Teachers” for a period of seven years.  

“The 2012 Master Teachers join a group of Georgia’s highly skilled and dedicated educators who share a passion for teaching and student learning,” said Executive Secretary for PSC Kelly Henson. “The Professional Standards Commission, along with their schools and communities, recognize and celebrate their accomplishments.”

Master Teachers are eligible to automatically renew their teaching certificates as long as they continue to qualify for Master Teacher status.

For more information on the Master Teacher program, please visit send an email to

Below is the list of teachers who have earned the “Master Teacher” Certification in 2012:  

Sara Looman, Atlanta Public Schools
Mark Washington, Atlanta Public Schools
Dennis Drummond, Baldwin County
Tammy Nash, Berrien County
Sheila Rice, Berrien County
Susan Mason, Bibb County
Kristen Rodgers, Bleckley County
Melissa Carter, Camden County
Saundra Sparks, Candler County
Meredith Brown, Chatham County
Molly Hannas, Chatham County
Amanda Eriquez, Cherokee County
Brian Heglund, Cherokee County
Lola Sawyerr, Clayton County
Melyn Roberson, Cobb County
Lori Scherer, Columbia County
Jandi Harris, DeKalb County
Tonya Izzard, DeKalb County
Johnathon McCoy, Effingham County
Melissa Gardner, Evans County
Crystal Cooke, Fannin County
James Barket, Fulton County
Roxanne Bassett, Fulton County
Melissa Beanblossom, Fulton County
Roothy Belizaire, Fulton County
Candance Bell, Fulton County
Robert Bidwell, Fulton County
Susan Calhoun, Fulton County
Danelle Chereck, Fulton County
Tina D’Aversa, Fulton County
Marisa DiSano, Fulton County
Denise Edwards, Fulton County
Carol Ferrer-Gallo, Fulton County
Deborah Lajewski, Fulton County
Elizabeth Haber, Fulton County
Pauline Henry, Fulton County
Michele Huber, Fulton County
Christina Kim, Fulton County
Mary Lawrence, Fulton County
Kari Lewis, Fulton County
Sherri Morales, Fulton County
Karen Neighbour, Fulton County
Sarah Philpot, Fulton County
Nikki Porter, Fulton County
Stephanie Purcell, Fulton County
Leslie Samford, Fulton County
Heather Tillman, Fulton County
Tiffany Williams, Fulton County
Brenda Youngblood, Fulton County
Tina Fowler, Griffin-Spalding County
Jill Arness, Gwinnett County
Laurel Bullock, Gwinnett County
Celisa Edwards, Gwinnett County
Kimberly Foster, Gwinnett County
Shenika Glenn, Gwinnett County
Gayle Graham, Gwinnett County
Jennie Gungiah, Gwinnett County
Beatrice Lawson, Gwinnett County
Melissa Murphy, Gwinnett County
Jason Oglesby, Gwinnett County
Terilyn Smith, Gwinnett County
Julie Van Soelen, Gwinnett County
Larissa Beecher, Houston County
Bernette Brown, Houston County
Linda Crego, Houston County
David Wilds, Houston County
Catherine Massey, Jefferson County
Amy Garnto, Laurens County
Karen Brogan, Marietta City
Sandra Meade, Murray County
Mary Joiner, Oconee County
Elisa Dossett, Walton County
Virginia Jones, Walton County
Richard Wellborn, Walton County
Cynthia Wood, Walton County