Governor Nathan Deal - Georgia’s 82nd Governor (2011-2019)

The content on this website is archived historic material and should be used for research purposes only. This website is no longer updated, and some links may not work. For inquiries please contact Governor Kemp’s office.

Deal names Education Advisory Board

February 25, 2011

Gov. Nathan Deal today announced the members who will serve on his Education Advisory Board. Comprised of four different groups of school superintendents, principals, teachers and school board members across the state, these groups will work with the governor to ensure the best decisions will be made for Georgia’s students.

“With the members of my Education Advisory Board now in place, I look forward to meeting with them on a quarterly basis to discuss how we can continue to improve educational outcomes for Georgia students,” said Deal. “The Georgians on these panels are leaders in their fields, and they are giving of their time and talents to help our state strive for educational excellence.”

Deal first announced the creation of the Education Advisory Board during his Eggs and Issues speech last month:

“The minds of our children are our greatest resource,” said Deal.  “I am hopeful that by partnering with those on the frontlines, we can make better policy decisions for our educators and students.”

Governor Deal’s Education Advisory Board (Bios attached for local media use)


Susan Andrews, Superintendent of Muscogee County Schools

Matt Arthur, Superintendent of Rabun County Schools

Dr. Gayland Cooper, Superintendent of Rome City Schools

Dr. Edmond T. “Ed” Heatley, Superintendent of Clayton County Schools

Beauford Hicks, Superintendent of Mitchell County Schools

Dr. Molly Howard, Superintendent of Jefferson County Schools

Sam King, Superintendent of Rockdale County Schools

Dr. Emily Lembeck, Superintendent of Marietta City Schools

Leonard R. McCoy, Superintendent of Colquitt County Schools

Dr. Gordon Pritz, Superintendent of Douglas County Schools

Tim Ragan, Superintendent of Echols County Schools

Paul Shaw, Superintendent of White County Schools

J. Alvin Wilbanks, Superintendent of Gwinnett County Public Schools


Kevin Bales, East Hall Middle School, Hall County Schools

Dr. Laurie Barron, Smokey Road Middle School, Coweta County Schools

Dr. Melinda Dennis, Alternative Learning Center, Wilcox County Schools

Dr. Sheila Kahrs, Haymon-Morris Middle School, Barrow County Schools

Ed Chang, Kipp Strive Academy,  Atlanta, Georgia

Dr. Miki Edwards, Rockdale Career Academy, Rockdale County Schools

Kym Yoriko Eisgruber, Mableton Elementary School, Cobb County  Schools

Kylie Holley, Pataula Charter Academy, Edison, Georgia

Dr. Alan Long, Jefferson County High School, Jefferson County Schools

Dr. Steven Miletto, Centennial High School, Fulton County Schools

Joe Parlier, Katherine B. Sutton Elementary School, Monroe County Schools

Dr. Karen Smits, Marietta Center for Advanced Academics, Cobb County Schools

Wes Taylor, Lowndes County High School, Lowndes County Schools


Tom Appelman, Southeast High School, Whitfield County Schools

Jai-Sun Bolden, Riverdale Middle School, Clayton County Schools

Sara Lynn Bryant, Lake Oconee Academy, Greensboro, Georgia

Jamie K. Frost, Schley County Elementary and Middle Schools, Schley County Schools

Sue Burrell Gibbs, Hawkinsville High School, Pulaski County Schools

Connie Jackson, Griffin Middle School, Cobb County Schools

Christy McGill, Dacula Elementary School, Gwinnett County Schools

Amy Steele, East Lake Elementary, Henry County Schools

Bettina Polite Tate, Sol C. Johnson High School, Chatham County Schools

Elizabeth Rhodes, Retired, Cobb County Schools

Angie Thrivikraman, Museum School of Avondale Estates, Atlanta, Georgia

Kurt Wheeler, Dean Rusk Middle School, Cherokee County Schools

Pam Williams, Appling County High School, Appling County Schools

Rachel Willis, Morningside Elementary, Atlanta Public Schools

School Board members:

Erik Charles, Henry County Board of Education

Ann K. Crow, Forsyth County Board of Education

Mark H. Dixon, Pierce County Board of Education

Scott Flanagan, Social Circle Board of Education

James Fleming, Jefferson County Board of Education

Lara Hodgson, Atlanta Heights Charter School Board

David W. Johnson, Floyd County Board of Education

Dr. James Pope, Carrolton City School Board

Janet Read, Cherokee County School Board

Mike Sleeper, Columbia County Board of Education

Sylvia Vann, Lee County Board of Education

Valarie Wilson, City Schools of Decatur’s Board of Education

Kim Curtis Wright, Bleckley County Board of Education


Related Files: